The Shipwreck Conservation Center is a subsidiary of the National Maritime Museum of Gdańsk, opened the undefined undefined undefined in a specially constructed building in Tczew near the Vistula Museum. The center was created in collaboration with the Norwegian Museum of the Navy and the Museum of the History of Culture of the University of Oslo. It was financed with the means of the Norwegian Financial Mechanism (85%) and grants from the Ministry of Culture of Poland. The museum has two parts: the conservation workshop and the exhibition hall.
The workshop is equipped with modern equipment and is used to carry out conservation work and reconstruction of the elements of boats and other objects found during underwater excavations. It contains sections forge-locksmithing and carpentry-carpentry, radiography apparatus with a scanner, an X-ray fluorescence spectrometer for analyzing the composition of metal elements. The wood found in water by archaeologists is kept in a system of adapted baths where it is subjected to the treatment of special solutions. The metal parts are cleaned with a high-pressure cleaner and a micronettoyeur. Heavy objects are moved using a load crane and mobile platforms. The workshop is a hall without partition walls. A mezzanine available to visitors allows to watch different stages of conservation and or reconstruction. This is unique in Poland that allows visitors to participate in the work.
The showroom offers visitors a varied collection. On one of its walls are suspended from the ceilings of the old boats and the fragments preserved from all over Poland (the oldest of the fifth century), boats from Africa (acquired by the crews of Polish boats) and a collection of kayaks from the years 1930-1950. On the ground we can appreciate large objects such as a keel or a fragment of the hull of a fifteenth century hulk. The exhibition is completed by three historic yachts: the Opty (on which Leonid Teliga made the first solo tour of the Polish world 1967-1969), the Dal (on which Andrzej Bohomolec, Jerzy Świechowski and Jan Witkowski crossed the Atlantic in 1933, a first Polish) and Kumka IV one of the first welded yachts, built by Tadeusz Sołtyk in 1937. Small objects such as boat equipment items or cargo examples are in partially glazed sliding storage units.
The objects are described in Polish and English. More information on the exhibits can be found through interactive panels and mobile apps. The museum also offers educational activities (special lessons, visits to the conservation workshop) and is also available to people with reduced mobility. There is also the possibility of organizing a visit for the blind (with the discovery of certain objects by touch).